See ya never, Snapchat.

Image

I’m sure most of you have heard of the recent Snapchat data security breech. I can’t say I’m not surprised that an app built for a generation that gives away data like it’s candy. Naturally, I fell for the app’s hype and made an account a while back. Sending snaps to friends near and far that stretched from ugly selfies to uglier selfies.

It was all fun and hilarious most of the time, until this breech where I realized that the app developers were not taking my privacy seriously… at all. I know that nothing we post online (ironic, because this is a blog) is “safe”, but when I go through the process of managing my privacy in my apps- I expect that the app developers would take my security seriously. 

Unfortunately, I was one of the users that was affected. Maybe I might’ve overreacted by deleting my account & the app. But, I’ve come to realize that life is better without it. Instead of living vicariously through my friends’ lives… I can finally start to focus on living my OWN life. 

**Check this site to see if your account has been breeched… http://lookup.gibsonsec.org/lookup**

I know this time of “snap-lessness” is going to be an adjustment.. especially when school starts up again. However, I’m looking forward to this adjustment… here’s to no more 10 second ugly selfies 🙂

 

Leave a comment